Whats a good temperature sensor / thermistor?

I'm new to arduino, and plan to buy a starter kit tomorrow.

for my first project i have decided to build a type of RGB mood light, but will change colour depending on the temperature.

from 18c (blue) to 28c (red), with the ideal perhaps an orange colour. and it needs to fade between the colours evenly.

someone mentioned that the sensor that comes with the kit im going to buy is only 9bit and would only give like 20 readings so there would be a noticable difference between the colours. but i have no idea about "bits" when it comes to sensors etc.

any suggestions?

Thanks for your reply,

this is what someone said about it. excuse me but i'm very new to this so i dont have much clue about it yet.

Just a note on your RGB temperature indicator idea. The temperature sensor in that ARDX kit is TMP36. You may end up with a scale issue. Say you want to fade from blue to red over "room" temperature (20c-27c). 8-bit PWM there will give you 256 values each way for a total of 512 values over the range of full blue to full red representing 20c and 27c respectively. With that sensor the 7c room temp swing on a 10bit ADC is only 14 counts. Basically, you can have 14 "fade steps" between blue and red and whatever colours in between.

First of all, a TMP36 sensor is an analog output device. Its output is volts, not bits. The ADC on the Arduino has ten bits, so I don't know where the "9 bit" stuff comes from. I think I can guess where the "20 values" comes from, and I'll show my guess in a minute.

But, first of all:

How many different "fade values" do you really need? Let's say, for the moment, that you would like to have a range of 0 - 255 to make it go from one extreme to the other. Maybe you think you would like more, but, let's say for now that 256 different values are the target. (That's a nice round number.)