What's the best way to power arduino for long term remote use

I tried searching the forums but I didn’t see anything that answered my question.

I want to make a wireless soil moisture sensor and would like to power it off a battery. I am shooting for it to run a couple months on batteries. I am looking to only update the soil moisture reading every 15, 30 maybe 60 minutes and have the unit sleep the rest of the time(reading sensor times kinda depends on battery life i can get). I see there are step up converters for batteries but I am not sure how much capacity I need for my project yet and if they trickle out power when not in use. It sounds like supplying exactly 5v of power is the most efficient but since most batteries are 1.5v or 1.2v the math just doesn’t work out. I have an uno since I am a newbie but I am guessing there are more efficient boards that can handle a moisture sensor and a wireless card. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks

I'm not really good at batteries, but what I know is that all wireless shield use a lot of power when transmitting... You should try setting some kind of solar cells to recharge the battery if you want months of power.

You'll want to make a stripped downd design, run from ~3V, 8 MHz.
Spend most time in power down sleep mode.
Can wake on 1Hz from RTC module, check the time, go back to sleep until time for a reading.
When it is time, power up the sensor, wireless card, make/send your readings, power back down, go back to sleeping.
Run from battery power directly - no LEDs, no USB/Serial adapter, no regulator.
Card like this with 328P on one side, crystal, 22pF caps, 100nF caps, 10K pullup resistor on the other side, or a commercial version of same.

Some RTC modules use chips with alarms also, can sleep until alarm comes in, do the readings, set next alarm time, back to sleep. DS1307 RTC is inexpensive & easy to use, but does not have alarms.

Some of us made remote devices like this: