Whats the deal with using two capacitors ?

It seems like every project and schematic I look at, they always want to use two capacitors.

For example, connecting a 1 uF and a 0.1 uF across the power input of the chip to attentuate voltage ripple.

And they are usually different types of capacitors. I know there are a dozen types of capacitors, but this
is a capacitor manufacturing issue and not an electronic functionality issue, no ? The circuit analysis software
doesn't care what type of capacitor it is, only the capacitance.

I studied and used electronics extensively about 25 years ago but not recently. I never read about this business of
using two capacitors until I returned to model-making recently.

It can be a pretty complicated issue, and depends upon the parasitic properties of the capacitors, inductance and resistance. Every capacitor has a resonance point in frequency, where it is most effective in decoupling. Different capacitors with different capacitance and parasitic inductance will have a different resonant point. Putting them in parallel broadens the range of effectiveness.

--
The Gadget Shield: accelerometer, RGB LED, IR transmit/receive, speaker, microphone, light sensor, potentiometer, pushbuttons

Different types of capacitors (mylar, ceramic, tantalum) have/exhibit different ESR - equivalent series resistance.

and not an electronic functionality issue, no

It is an electronic functionality issue.

The circuit analysis software doesn't care what type of capacitor it is

That's one reason why prototypes are built.

It can be a pretty complicated issue,

Could that be the reason that it takes so many years to get a technology degree ?

Don

OK, so what you are saying is that having a 1 uF and a 0.1 uF both there, isn't just to have 1.1 uF of capacitance.

You are actually making a little network of 2 capacitors plus their internal resistances and stray capacitance, which