When to charge a 6V 4Ah SLA battery and can I charge it this way?

Hi. I need a battery for my project which will use around 4A, so I decided to buy a SLA (6V 4Ah), thinking well it is 6V and I have a power supply uniit which is 6V 20A, so it should be aesy to charge it. But damn, it is seriosly hard to charge a battery by yourself. But as a broke student I want to keep things simple, since I don't need the battery to work for years right now.

I am buying a step down voltage regulator (to use it on arduino), and I have a 12V 1A adaptor. Setting this regulator to 6.8V and connecting it to adaptor, can I charge the battery without burning my house down?

And at what volt should I consider charging the battery?

Most important, don't leave a lead-acid battery partially discharged for long periods. Make sure it gets a very full charge at least once per week.

You have not told us what you want to use the battery for - for example, how long a single running session might be? Ideally recharge the battery after every running session.

Have a look at the Battery University website for all the info you need.

...R

Robin2:
Most important, don't leave a lead-acid battery partially discharged for long periods. Make sure it gets a very full charge at least once per week.

You have not told us what you want to use the battery for - for example, how long a single running session might be? Ideally recharge the battery after every running session.

Have a look at the Battery University website for all the info you need.

...R

I will use it on mobile robotic arm, It won't work more than 10 minutes, I will probably won't use it that much either.

I looked at these kind of sites, and they say I need to regulate amps, but for that I should buy more stuff, which is a luxury right now. So my questions stands, can I charge the battery this whay and at what volt I should be alarmed to charge?

compnaion:
at what volt I should be alarmed to charge?