Where do I find reference documentation for library calls I find in posted code?

Hi there,

I am new to Atmel MCUs but have been programming other MCUs for years (Freescale). I am working on a PWM interrupt and found some Arduino code snippets with references to library calls like:

PWMC_ConfigureChannel( PWMC_SetPeriod( NVIC_EnableIRQ(

These are not native Arduino reserved words in the IDE, like 'pinMode' yet there is no header include for them. So where are these defined in Arduino 1.6.13?

How do I learn about how these write to the actual registers listed in the SAM3X data sheet (like PWM Enable Register, PWM_ENA.)?

Also, I see 'PWM_Handler(void)' in the code - is this predefined somewhere to tie out to the ISR vector for PWM? In other words, how does the Arduino compiler know that the function my source code called 'PWM_Handler(void)' is actually an ISR and not just any old function? Seems like magic.

All over the forum I see code snippets with references to library calls like this, but have not come across any clues to digging into them. I found something about a libsam on a google search, but not finding it in the arduino directory (Arduino 1.6.13).

Where is a good source of info on the details of these magical libraries? I am truly stumped.

BTW, below is the code I am looking at from stack overflow which works at producing a 192KHZ 50% duty cycle pulse on pin 8 of my Due.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/35962894/how-do-i-configure-an-interrupt-for-the-hardware-pwm-on-the-arduino-due#36705124

uint32_t totalTime = 0; // total elapsed time