Where do I start / How to avoid common errors

Hi, sorry for the very basic question but I'm a long time programmer with absolutely no experience in electronics. Consider this question an high level question, not a detailed one (nor I do need detailed answers).

Premise:

I must create a project and I have a simple switch (on/off), a led, three sensors and an SD shield.

How should it work:

when I click the button, the led turns on (off if I click the button again), I continuously get data from the three sensors and any data is written to a file in a SD until I turn off button (and led).

The main questions are: can I connect all these sensors? Is there any limit? What should I care about before purchasing any sensor? Isn't there any relation between the power needed by the sensor and my batteries? Moreover, are batteries safer than power suppies? Can you point me to some resource?

As you can see I'm very confused.

It doesn't help to find shields like this one: https://www.seeedstudio.com/Base-Shield-V2-p-1378.html (I don't understand if they are required, they are simply useful or should I avoid them).

The project is a mid school project (nothing professional, but it should at least work), I'm currently very ignorant but I'm a fast learner and I have two months of time to improve my non-existent electronics skills. :-)

can I connect all these sensors?

Maybe. Depends on the sensors. If a given sensor needs 48 wires, probably not.

Is there any limit?

How many pins do you have? How many do you need?

What should I care about before purchasing any sensor?

Does it measure what you want to measure?

Isn't there any relation between the power needed by the sensor and my batteries?

Of course there is.

Moreover, are batteries safer than power suppies?

Yes. All that power running through the wires in your house is going to kill you. I know it will; I read it on the internet.

Can you point me to some resource?

For?