Where should uint8_t and boolean be defined?

I am brand new to Arduino, but I have used C and BASIC for years. I got the light to blink. I have been playing with the example SerialCallResponceASCII and all was going well. My first real task is to communicate with a TI bq2052 chip by HDQ serial. I found HDQ routines by xSmurf that look like they should do the job, and imported them into SeralCallResponceASCII. But when I compile I get many errors concerning 'boolean' does not name a type, and 'uint8_t' does not name a type.

I am sure I could define those terms in my own code, but where SHOULD those be defined? I want to start out learing a new language by using good programming form.

I am sure I could define those terms in my own code, but where SHOULD those be defined?

Are you asking where they ARE defined? wiring.h contains a typedef statement that makes boolean exist, and stdint.h defines uint8_t.

The compiler is complaining that they are NOT defined, so I guess wiring.h is not getting included in the compile.

The example SerialCallResponceASCII that came with the IDE compiles and runs fine on its own. I added a HDQ folder containing hdq.h and hdq.cpp to my Arduino/libraries folder. Then I used Sketch/Import Library to add it to SerialCallResponceASCII, and that put #include <hdq.h> at the top of the file. Now if I “verify” I get dozens of errors, most say ‘uint8_T’ does not name a type, or ‘boolean’ does not name a type, or ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘uint8_T’ with no type.

If I comment out #include <hdq.h> the errors all go away.

"uint8_T" ?

If I comment out #include <hdq.h> the errors all go away.

Then I think you know where the issue lies. If you need help solving it, a link to the library would be useful.

Also, where you put the include file statement is important. Your code?

Here is where I got the HDQ code:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1202494952