where to declare variables and mem impact

Hi all!

While I have some background in C/C++ I am relatively new to embedded programming thus now need to pay more attention to memory utilization.

My main question regards where to declare certain variables and what the impact on memory overhead is...

If I declare variables inside the functions that use them, is this memory "free" when that function exits? i.e. is it a good practice to declare as many variables as possible within functions so as to maximize your available memory outside the function scope? If this is correct, what is the downside of declaring variables within a function? (other than of course not being able to access them globally)

I'd also appreciate any insight into how the "volatile" keyword plays into this... thanks!

You should always declare variable as close to where you want to use them, remembering that some variables may need global or static scope to preserve their values between calls to their functions. Some of the examples given in the learning section are, IMHO, quite poor, in that they give almost all variables global scope when they really don't need it.

"voltatile" is a hint to the compiler that the value of the variable may change outside the apparent program flow, either as a result of a variable changing because of an interrupt, or say, the value in a memory-mapped register changing because of some external event.

If I declare variables inside the functions that use them, is this memory "free" when that function exits?

Yes, such local variables are stored in the 'stack' and are freed when the function returns.