Which Arduino to buy for this project?

Good Afternoon and Happy New Year to all :slight_smile:

I’m making my first forray into Arduino device development and need some assistance. A bit of background may help. Im a confident Windows C# developer and Web developer (PHP/MySQL etc). I did some basic electronic engineering at university, developing a LED dice.

I am currently developing an application that will replace one used by my father. It connects to a hardware kit based on the LPT parallel port of a PC, however a new PC is required and there is a wish to move towards USB and a more modern system. I was pointed in the direction of Auduino as the best way to do this (however I am open to suggestion).

The hardware has 2 sides to it:

• An output side that can control 8x relays that will control the power (12V DC) of certain items each individually depending on the signal sent from the application. The old system used a ULN 2803A transistor to control these relays. I am happy to continue with this component or again something different if suggested.
  • The input side which should be monitoring 4x photo resistors and send a signal to the application when the photo resistor is “dark”

The currect hardward is wired as per these diagrams:

Output Power Control

Input Light Sensors

The application itself will be developed in C#.

So the question is, well any advice? Am I going about this the correct way? Should I be looking elsewhere? And if Arduino is the way to go which one should I be purchasing.

I would appreiciate trying to keep the costs as low as possible. :slight_smile:

Thanks to anyone who can assist!

Your project looks to be very doable using an arduino Uno even.

For the relay outputs side you really can't build much cheaper then those Asian E-bay sellers have to offer. An example. http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-5V-8-Channel-Relay-Module-Board-Electronic-for-Arduino-AVR-PIC-MCU-DSP-ARM-/390568253990?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5aefae9a26