Which Arduino to buy?

Hi all! I have been hatching up a project for a couple months now, but had no idea how to achieve fine motor control. Basically I'm wanting to build a poor man's CNC metalworking machine for a specific job. Then I discovered stepper motors, which in turn lead me to discovering Arduino.

I'm going to need to control 9, possibly 10 stepper motors for this project, all working together in sync. Could someone advise me which Arduino boards can handle that many outputs, and which boards to avoid? Cost is a consideration as well, but I do need a board that can handle the project.

In case it's not blatantly obvious, I'm a complete Arduino novice, so any advice you can offer will be gratefully received.

Thanks!

I bought an Arduino Due because it has analog outputs called DAC0 and DAC1. I found out its RAM is 96 kilobytes, bigger than other Arduinos. I like it. It works as expected.

It sounds like you may been a little extra Go-Juice, so I would agree with AmbiLobe.
In some project, people also use more than one arduino, but I don't think you need to go that far yet. As you progress tho, keep it in mind as an option.

Is it possible to have one Arduino controlling other Arduinos?

Yes, arduinos can communicate with each other.
Here is a test of that:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Test-arduino-to-arduino-serial-using-softwareSeri/#intro

AmbiLobe:
I bought an Arduino Due because it has analog outputs called DAC0 and DAC1. I found out its RAM is 96 kilobytes, bigger than other Arduinos. I like it. It works as expected.

I am new to this stuff as well (I do have a bit of experience in mechanical design) ....

PWM is good to control the motor speed (motor on the head of a lathe or mill for example) but when you are interested in controlling the X,Y,Z axis I believe that you need digital control. Digital output is also what the stepper motors are expecting.