Which Arduino to Buy?

Newbie here. No Arduino experience. I have a project in mind and would like to use an Arduino board to facilitate the project. The actual project is a pretty simple utilizing three analog inputs and one digital output.

Can’t quite figure out which board to buy. What I think I need to do is use one Arduino board to facilitate development and then transfer that development to a second Arduino board that only does what it needs to do for the project. I presume that the coding would be “burned” into this second board.

Anyway, without a bit more experience, that’s all I can tell you. I appreciate your suggestions. I am also open to being referred to information regarding the process of moving from development to product utilizing Arduino.

Without any more information what you are doing, buy an UNO.
And several:
Atmega328P-PU for the standalone controller chip (with bootloader if you don't want to blow it yourself).

I agree with Larry, without knowing more I'd also recommend the Uno for rapid prototyping.

For real Projects, I prefer a "bare bone" and usually build them myself but am becoming extremely fond of the Adafruit Pro Mini because it has a solder Bridge that can be removed to make it extremely energy efficient and you simply can't build one easier.

Generally speaking, the board you choose for a Project is usually a consideration of space, cost, and Hardware requirements. For example, the Mega has more Memory, etc.

If you are going to use shields, buy an Uno. If you are going to build a circuit on a breadboard, buy a Nano. You can't plug an Uno into a breadboard.

The Uno is fine for most projects where size doesn't matter. You don't need to develop on one board, and run on a second board though. The development board is also the target. When you move from prototype to final device, just solder your circuitry together, and use the same Arduino.