Which Arduino to use

I'm a complete beginner at electronics and code but am really interested to learn about it all. Right now I'm planning a simple project and could use some guidance.

Right now if any of you have suggestions for type of Arduino or other components and sources for them I'm happy to hear them.

Some of the specs:

1. timer with tenth of second accuracy
  2. timer counts up or down
  3. timer can be programmed to trigger an external device at a time set by user via electrical signal
  4. after each trigger event, device automatically resets to await next start
  5. timer starts counting with single button push
  6. external device is a rod that moves in a straight line with a throw of about 2 inches, possibly solenoid or actuator?
  7. timer/trigger should fit into box no bigger than W 3" x H 2" x D 2"
  8. remote actuator or solenoid can be larger

Thanks!

OK how about this...which board should I use?

Or, if I haven't provided enough info, tell me what additional info I need to provide.

Uno is fine for your purposes. If the time is just supposed to do intervals, that's enough. If you care what time it is, you will likely need a real time clock (RTC) too.

Thanks Bill. No need to know actual time. Just need a timer that is easy to set and can handle the functions I mentioned.

So the Uno can also handle the triggering of an external device too? Because there's a mechanical component to that part of it I assume I'll need to control a a relay/SSR that can handle the larger load required to run an electro-mechanical device?

And if I'm posting in a forum that isn't really intended to answer questions like these can you guys direct me to one that's mmore appropriate?

Any Arduino can control a very large device by means of however large a cascade of transistors/relays you require.