Which board to use?

Hi Everyone - this is my first message here,

I am new to arduino - had some experience with PIC microcontrollers in the past. I have a project that involves a number of digital inputs (photodiode-phototransistor - up to 24 of them) . The input data has to be timed really accurately, based on this data some 3d numerical calculations have to be executed (lots of sin, cos, tan, squares and square roots) then a simple output has to be generated. The calculation should not take more then 0.5 seconds ideally. The output can be, depending on the version - some lights, spoken messages, led display or even data through wifi to a computer program.

The project's purpose is to develop, produce and sell an industrial quality product.

What micro-controller and board (boards) should I use?
Do I have to use floating point math or 32 bit integer would do?

Thanks,
Andrew

The digital inputs you could handle with a shift register (eg. 74HC165) or 16-bit port expander connected to I2C or SPI.

lots of sin, cos, tan, squares and square roots

How many, specifically? If you give a sample calculation, I could time how long it would take (as could you, if you already have an Arduino board).

I have a project which calculates prime numbers. It is doing one every 500 mS.

http://forum.arduino.cc//index.php?topic=192209

For each prime number I reckon it has to do one square root, and over 1000 divisions. For non-primes it will probably stop dividing sooner (because it hits a zero remainder).

I did not work out the numerical method to solve my rather complicated system of equations - it also depends on how powerful the processor is - might be able to use some brute force method it it is.

kacago22:
Hi Everyone - this is my first message here,