Which controller for high current stepper motor ?

Hi, i'm new to arduino system and i'm trying to control a stepper motor. I've just bought an Arduino Mega and my motor is a 57BYGH405A that needs a 3,6V and 3A /phase.... and that's my problem. I've read a lot about the L293D controller which doesn't seem to be able to hang such a high current. I can't find which controller can be used instead for controlling stepper motors above 2A - up to 3 in my case. That would be great if anyone has infos about how i can manage this problem - i know there is a solution as i found discussions talking of 10A stepper motor control (but unfortunately without giving details) ! Any help will be greatly appreciated

What sort of speed do you want it to turn - that's a high-performance motor that would nomally be hooked up to a switching bipolar motor controler.

If you only want to use for slow speed it can be driven in unipolar fashion. Its 3.6V (its not clear if that's the bipolar or unipolar voltage rating). 4 Darlington TO220 transistors running from 5V could work (you'll need biggish heatsinks)

Thanks for that answer. My motor can be either unipolar or bipolar, depends on how i wire it. Speed should be of 5ms minimum per step, which means that 1s for 360°will be the highest speed i need. I saw many stepper motor controller that use a L293D, but i'm afraid that this part can't handle 3A. I saw shields like Adafruit Motor shield, but none of them is OK as they can't handle more than 1,2A (sometimes 2A). Any idea of what i need to control such a motor would help a lot.