Which sensor/button would be best?

Thanks for reading my first post!

I am fairly brand new to the Arduino and electronics in general but I have some really cool ideas that I am trying to make a reality, I am just lacking a lot of background knowledge. Here's my issue:

I have a project involving a photoresistor and I was attempting to use pushbuttons as well but I don't know if what I am trying to do is feasible with them. I want an event to trigger when the photoresistor drops below a certain value. However; I want that event to change depending on which button I am pressing at the time and only when that button is being pressed.

I bought some normally open momentary pushbutton switches but they don't have any output (that I am aware of at least) and the regular 6mm pushbuttons seem to switch between on and off. I tried using code to reset the buttons state but I need it to stay on for variable lengths of time. Is there some better hardware I should consider trying to use?

Thanks again!

braveneuroworlds:
Thanks for reading my first post!

I am fairly brand new to the Arduino and electronics in general but I have some really cool ideas that I am trying to make a reality, I am just lacking a lot of background knowledge. Here's my issue:

I have a project involving a photoresistor and I was attempting to use pushbuttons as well but I don't know if what I am trying to do is feasible with them. I want an event to trigger when the photoresistor drops below a certain value. However; I want that event to change depending on which button I am pressing at the time and only when that button is being pressed.

I bought some normally open momentary pushbutton switches but they don't have any output (that I am aware of at least) and the regular 6mm pushbuttons seem to switch between on and off. I tried using code to reset the buttons state but I need it to stay on for variable lengths of time. Is there some better hardware I should consider trying to use?

Thanks again!