Which sensor do you recommend for this project?

Hello guys, this is my first time posting.

I have a design that I want to do. The design is all about preventing the situation of forgetting a baby by himself inside of a locked car. For this, I am planning to use some sensors withing the car seat such as (temperature, weight, etc) and then use an arduino microcontroller to control them. One of the features that I wanted to add is to detect the proximity between two points. The first one is the car seat and the other one is the user or designated driver. My question is, what is the simpler approach to have this ? I was thinking to use a bluetooth connection between the microcontroller and the cellphone to detect the proximity but I read that is not really possible to detect range or proximity with a bluetooth signal. another way that I was considering is with a RF transmitter and receiver but I dont really know how this works. By any chance any of you have an idea on how to properly implement this ?
Thanks a lot!

There used to be a product called Smartag.

You put a unit in your brief case and carried a second unit in your pocket.

If there was more than 50 feet between the two units, the one in your pocket would beep.

Why not have birth control for people who are incapable of remembering their children?

It's that damn law that says you shouldn't put your offspring in the front seat where you'd be less likely to forget you made one of those things.
But to be fair, I'm sure sleep deprivation plays a role for some parents with poorly trained meatbags.

As for a sensor system, sounds like a dead man switch of some sort could work. Put transmitter on the meatbag, transmit a signal every minute or so. Receiver on the parent that resets a timer every 45 seconds or so when it receives the signal. If the irresponsible parent gets too far away and consequently doesn't receive the signal, an alarm goes off.