Which sensor should I use??

I am trying to detect some objects (nuts and bolts) as they pass on a belt conveyor. Belt is 6 inches wide and size of objects is not fixed. Speed is about 10-12cm/s and they are passing one at a time not necessarily through same point. They can be anywhere within 6 inches width of the belt.
I am a complete noob when it comes to electronics so I experimented with those cheap IR obstacle sensors. Now they only detect upto 2-3cm and sometimes miss too. I could buy the ones with a higher range but how do I ensure it won't miss any object?? Any other cheap alternative? Analog or digital any will work as long as it detects right and always.

a1604:
I am trying to detect some objects (nuts and bolts) as they pass on a belt conveyor. Belt is 6 inches wide and size of objects is not fixed. Speed is about 10-12cm/s and they are passing one at a time not necessarily through same point. They can be anywhere within 6 inches width of the belt.
I am a complete noob when it comes to electronics so I experimented with those cheap IR obstacle sensors. Now they only detect upto 2-3cm and sometimes miss too. I could buy the ones with a higher range but how do I ensure it won't miss any object?? Any other cheap alternative? Analog or digital any will work as long as it detects right and always.

There are multiple options. I would do it with optical barrier. Basically you take the cheapest red laser you can find ( less than 10 dollars) and a fototransistor sensitive to that specific wavelength. You put the laser on one side of the belt and the fototransistor on the other. You can sense voltage drop / current / resistance with a micro controller. when the barrier is interrupted you can light a led / send message to a PC / message to mobile phone ... Etc.

The hardware costs : a development board ( e.g arduino ) , laser and cheap dirt for the rest. If you make your own board you can pull it off bellow 20 dollars.