Which timer or how to time 3 events?

I want to build a simple robot that rotates a barrel painted in 3 different colors red, green and yellow.
so what it should do is:
Time 0 start
Time 2 min, rotate motor and stop @ switch green
Time 11 min, rotate motor and stop @ switch yellow
Time 12 min, rotate motor and stop @ switch red
loop

I used a week now and everything have failed :blush:
But this is my first programming experience so learning a lot.

Any advice appreciated, but i am total noob, so need some explanation :wink:

best regards

Jan

Is the red, green, yellow barrel a substitute for red, green, yellow LEDs?

Can you give us the bigger picture about what you are doing?

Many people use millis() to time things. Have you ever made a sketch using millis()?

Millis returns the number of milliseconds that have gone by since the sketch started. So If you start a sketch, check the millis() amount and then do something after millis() is 120,000 bigger than it was before that will be about 2 minutes?

Does your time have to be exact or is about 2 minutes good enough?

Is your project battery powered or mains powered?

"Everything have failed" is not at all helpful. How have you failed? You dont' know how to wire things up? You can't get sketches to run? You don't know how to write code? What exactly are you you having problems with?

More information leads to better answers.

Is the red, green, yellow barrel a substitute for red, green, yellow LEDs?

It is for timing surfing heats.
Red means heat ended, green go and yellow heat soon ending. Since it is battery powered project on the beach where sun light makes lamps hard to see, i am turning a big barrel with the 3 colors painted on 1/3 each....

Many people use millis() to time things. Have you ever made a sketch using millis()?