Which Transistors to get for a Beginner?

Hey there,

I am just starting out with electronics and need some advice for some components. I got myself a basics electronic set with a breadbord, some jumpers, leds, resitors and only small 0.1A transisitors.

So back to the question. What are usefull values/kinds especially for/of transistor to buy. I dont want to run to the electronic store every time I need something for a project.

I got the Tip31 for Led-Strip and small DC Motor control on my list. Are there (other) allround transisitors, maybe pnp's to get?

What things else are nice to have as an beginner? I really appreciate any tips.

That's hard to say.... The TIP31 looks like a good all-round choice. Its PNP compliment is the TIP32, but 90% of the time when you are working with just a positive power supply you'll be using NPNs.

Maybe just pick-up a couple extra TIP31s until you have a specific need for something else...

The most critical specs will be the current rating (collector current) and the power rating.* Almost any transistor can handle the low voltages (say 5V or 24V) that we are working with. The other specs (such as gain) don't vary that much from transistor-to-transistor so we usually don't worry too much about those other specs/characteristics (especially in digital circuits) . ...So in most cases, you'd "pick any-old transistor rated for 1 Amp or more", or something like that. ...But, it's tricky for a beginner because you don't know what specs you can ignore and what specs are important for a particular application.

The NPN [u]TIP120[/u] (and it's PNP compliment, the TIP125) is very popular. It's actually not a single transistor, but a Darlington pair in one package (with a couple of other components). A Darlington behaves pretty-much like a regular transistor with higher beta (higher current gain), and about twice the base-emitter voltage.