While loop with remote button input

I’m brand new to Arduino programming and it’s been over a decade since I’ve done any programming at all, so this is all basically new to me. I am working on programming a string of lights to behave like the ones in the show Stranger Things. I’ve figured out how to write a program to turn on individual lights on my string, control the color and duration and change to the next one and repeat that loop, which is exactly what I want it to do.

The code only works for one sequence however so I had the idea to program in a remote so I could program many sequences and change them with an IR remote button press. I’ve written a code that will let me us a remote that seems to interface with my lights just fine, however, I can’t seem to figure out how to loop the sequence inside of the button press command. Ideally, what I want it to do is wait for me to press a button then when it receives a button signal, start a sequence loop until it receives a different button press. From searching around, it sounds like I need to use a while loop, but I can not figure out how to use it properly. When I add it in where I think it needs to be, it stops the button signal from working at all.

Here is the code as I have it written currently. Right now this runs and when I press the two buttons programmed on the remote, the sequence of turning on and off an LED once works just fine.

#include <IRremote.h>
#include <FastLED.h>
#define NUM_LEDS 50
#define DATA_PIN 6
int IRpin = 11; // pin for the IR sensor
IRrecv irrecv(IRpin);
decode_results results;
CRGB leds[NUM_LEDS];

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
irrecv.enableIRIn(); // Start the receiver
}

void loop()
{

if (irrecv.decode(&results))
{

irrecv.resume(); // Receive the next value
}

switch(results.value)
{

case 0xFFA25D:
// Turn the first led red for 1 second
FastLED.addLeds<NEOPIXEL, DATA_PIN>(leds, NUM_LEDS);
leds[0] = CRGB::Red;
FastLED.show();
delay(1000);