Why do i need GND while using analog pin 0 ?

Hi!

Im a beginner and im doing this example. http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ReadAnalogVoltage

But i don't realy understandning why i just need GND? I know that is ground. The potentiometer scales of the voltage from 5V to like 3V and send it to analog pin 0. analog pin 0 read the voltage and print it out to the monitor.

Why do i need the GND if i only want the voltage goto analog pin 0? Like putting a reistor between pin 5V and analog pin 0.

EDIT: This is the same thing! http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/DigitalReadSerial

Why need GND here?

Why do i need the GND if i only want the voltage goto analog pin 0?

Because voltage is a potential difference between two points, one is the analogue input and the other is ground. If you don't connect the ground you have only have one point and you can not measure the voltage on one point. In fact it is meaningless to try.

Grumpy_Mike:

Why do i need the GND if i only want the voltage goto analog pin 0?

Because voltage is a potential difference between two points, one is the analogue input and the other is ground. If you don't connect the ground you have only have one point and you can not measure the voltage on one point. In fact it is meaningless to try.

So you're telling me that if 2.5V goes to GND and 2.5V goes to analog pin 3, im gonna land on half of 1024? Which is 512. If 0V goes to GND and 5V goes to analog pin 3, im gonna land on 1024? Or 1023 in this case.

Is this the same as digitalRead() ?

you can not measure the voltage on one point

....Zen and the Art of Electrical Engineering

Can you show me an example there if 5V goes stright into analog pin 0. The monitor will show a position, and if 4V goes into analog pin 0, the monitor will show another position?

So you're telling me that if 2.5V goes to GND and 2.5V goes to analog pin 3, im gonna land on half of 1024?