Why does my Arduino Leonardo not show up in the Arduino IDE anymore?

Hi,

I've bought a Chinese Arduino Leonardo on eBay and until now it worked great. (What you should know is that it was always recognized as an Arduino Leonardo ETH but everything else worked like it should.) Please bear in mind that I'm kind of new to Arduinos.

However, after I uploaded a sketch it didn't show up anymore. Neither in the Arduino IDE nor in the Windows Device Manager. Unfortunately, the code doesn't use any kind of LEDs or displays to indicate it works. Just the Serial connection (which, due to the non-recognition of the Arduino, can't be read).

I tried another (the same product but another) model to find out if it is the PC or the Arduino but it worked as well. After I flashed the sketch onto it the second board also didn't show up anymore. On both boards now, the power LED lights up, however the port option in the IDE is greyed out

My problem: I don't have another (working) Arduino to flash the bootloader to it. I just have an ESP8266 and an ESP32 and I can upload as many sketches onto them with no problem --> the cable and the USB port are ok.

So: Can I do anything to revive the damaged Arduinos? What is it that caused this problem?