Why is 'i' used in this code?

Hi All;

Thanks for looking at this post. The design intent of this project is to utilize a Adafruit Neopixel LED strip to increment and illuminate 4 LED’s at once after a determined delay. I got the code from the Neopixel example library file “simple” and modified it a bit to turn 4 LED’s and then increment. More specifically, why do is ‘i’ in the for loop and the increment used in this code (provided below)? I am a newb to arduino programming and from what I can tell, this is programmed in C.

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#ifdef __AVR__
  #include <avr/power.h>
#endif

// Which pin on the Arduino is connected to the NeoPixels?
#define PIN            6

// How many NeoPixels are attached to the Arduino?
#define NUMPIXELS      60

// When we setup the NeoPixel library, we tell it how many pixels, and which pin to use to send signals.
// Note that for older NeoPixel strips you might need to change the third parameter--see the strandtest
// example for more information on possible values.
Adafruit_NeoPixel pixels = Adafruit_NeoPixel(NUMPIXELS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

int delayval = 5000; // delay for half a second

void setup() {
  pixels.begin(); // This initializes the NeoPixel library.
}

void loop() {

int j=1;

while(j<2)
  {

// For a set of NeoPixels the first NeoPixel is 0, second is 1, all the way up to the count of pixels minus one.

for(int i=0;i<60;i++){

// pixels.Color takes RGB values, from 0,0,0 up to 255,255,255
    pixels.setPixelColor(i, pixels.Color(255,255,0)); // Moderately bright green color.
    pixels.setPixelColor(i+1, pixels.Color(255,255,0)); // Moderately bright green color.
    pixels.setPixelColor(i+2, pixels.Color(255,255,0)); // Moderately bright green color.
    pixels.setPixelColor(i+3, pixels.Color(255,255,0)); // Moderately bright green color.

pixels.show(); // This sends the updated pixel color to the hardware.

delay(delayval); // Delay for a period of time (in milliseconds).