Why is my LED dimmer when using a Transistor?

Hi,

I have the following circuit - Circuit design LED Brightness with Transistor | Tinkercad and I'm trying to work out why the LED is dimmer when using a transistor compared without.

My arduino code simply sets pin 13 to be constantly High which goes to the base of the transistor. When the current flows via the transistor, the current measures 5.75mA and the voltage across the Anode and Cathode measures 1.93V. However when I press the push button, the current flows straight from one terminal of the button to the other (bypassing the transistor) and the current measures 19.2mA and voltage across Anode and Cathode is 2.07V which I would like to have using the transistor as well.

I have tried to change the values of the base resistor with no luck. I'm still very new to electronics and I'm sure there is an easy fix here.

Please post a schematic of your circuit as you have built it (no, a response like "it's exactly like the one in this link" does not count) and a photo of that circuit.

There should be a base resistor, but also a current limiting resistor for the led itself. So 2 resistors in total. Again, please show a schematic of your circuit and make explicit which values you have tried in which places. Make all component choices explicit, so please also indicate which transistor you're using.

A transistor (BJT type) such as the one illustrated will introduce a voltage drop op 0.7 volts.

I have not built this circuit yet in real life but here is the Tinkercad image

Can Tinkercad simulate the brightness of a LED or how have you come to the above conclusion if you have not built the circuit ?

Yes, it can simulate the circuit. I have uploaded a video here - Tinkercad Simulation - Album on Imgur