Why need resistor and how do I know which one?

Hi!

Im a beginner on arduino and have a very basic question. Im doing this circuit on arduino UNO with the following code for printing the value to the serialmonitor:

int inputPin = 4; // inputpin for pushbutton
int val = 0; // variable for the pinStatus

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200);
  pinMode(inputPin, INPUT);    // declare pushbutton as input
}

void loop(){
  val = digitalRead(inputPin);  // read input value
  Serial.println(val);
}

First I was thinking that I could do the connection simply like this:

It reacted when the button was pushed but got really unstable output when it wasnt.

I understand that I have to connect the circuit as following:

but I wounder
Why do I have to have a resistor here and how do I know what value on the resistor to use??

thanks for this very beginner question!

Change this line pinMode(inputPin, INPUT); to pinMode(inputPin, INPUT_PULLUP); // input pin with internal pullup resistor enabled

and wire the switch to connect the pin to Gnd when pressed.

The pin will then reliably read as HIGH when not pressed, and LOW when pressed.

You have to have the digital pin either connected to 5V or ground in order for it to read one or the other. BY connecting it through the resistor, you are making sure it ill be in that state when it is not pressed. Otherwise, when not pressed it wouldn't be actually connected to anything but the pin. A wire sticking out of a digital pin and not connected to anything is called an antenna and it will pick up any stray signal around and give you those unstable readings.

Thanks!

Otherwise, when not pressed it wouldn't be actually connected to anything but the pin. A wire sticking out of a digital pin and not connected to anything is called an antenna and it will pick up any stray signal around and give you those unstable readings.