Wifi Arduino - servo motors - iphone - Automated Xylophone

Hi there,

I am a uni student in desperate need of some advice. We are aiming to create a project, where using the arduino we can have a xylophone that plays people’s mobile numbers. So that when you approach the project you use an iphone to enter your mobile number, this sends to the arduino which triggers the 9 servo motors to move 9 xylophone mallets attached corresponding with each number from 0-9 to hit the different numbered keys. So infront of them their mobile number becomes a short tune played by the xylophone.
We are setting it up so that each key has its own mallet attached to a servo motor which is rotated to hit the corresponding key.
Our problem is figuring out a way in which to enter the persons mobile number so that it instantly plays the mallets.

PLEASE HELP!!!
Any advice would be awesome

Thanks Demi, Lily and Cooper!

THIS IS OUR BLOG TO HELP EXPLAIN OUR PROJECT A LITTLE BETTER http://xylophonenumber.tumblr.com

You could have a web page where you entered your number which is sent to the arduino running the mallets, or did you want to do it by someone texting the device?

Please don’t cross-post. (Please post replies here.)

sorry about cross posting!

We were hoping to have it by texting the device but I suppose a web page could work

I would say the tricky bit is the hardware of the mallets rather than any software issue. If you feel confident with that, the rest should be pretty easy

Depending on your budget and technical skill, I would say the options you could have are: