WiFi Shield unable to connect

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to Arduino, but I have had a little experience.

So my problem is that I'm trying to create a Wifi Web Server to control some LED's. However, the shield does not work properly. When connecting to the WiFi network (WPA encryption), it usually takes between 3-5 tries to connect successfully. The "Error" LED on the shield is red for most of this process. After it does, then I have the Serial give me the IP address of the shield. According to the examples and documentation, I should be able to access the IP address in my browser, but I cannot. The page says "sending request" for a few seconds, and then eventually Chrome gives me the standard "Oops, cant connect" error. I can successfully ping the IP address, but that is pretty much the extent. The code I am using is very similar to the example code here: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/WiFiWebServer I have identified that in the main loop, the first if clause (essentially if server.available()==true) NEVER returns true.

I have used the examples for WiFiWebServer, SimpleWebServerWiFi, and even WiFiWebClient, modifying ONLY the ssid and pass for my network. None of them can connect.

Can anyone tell me why none of these work?

For the record, I am using an Uno, Official WiFi Shield, and have not tampered with the firmware. Apparently, the process worked perfectly using the Ethernet shield, but does not work at all with the WiFi shield.

Regards and thank you in advance.