WiFi traffic detector + led and sound trigger

Hi everyone,

I have already managed to build a couple of Arduino projects but I am still a newbie.

I am looking to build a device (or series of devices) for an art installation about the awareness of the wifi networks surrounding us, that does the following:

• Scans and detects wifi traffic in a small room (5x5m). Only detect, no need to actually connect to a network.

• when the traffic reaches a certain "threshold" (if something like that exists on wifi traffic), it triggers a short blink to a LED light (about 5W or similar) and a sound to a small speaker.

• I haven't figured out what kind of sound should be triggered. Ideally a short wav or mp3 file... otherwise some type of user defined frequency burst.

The idea is to build about 5 to 10 of these devices, set them up in the same room and that they react at different times (different thresholds? wifi channels?), triggering different sounds while lighting up briefly their LED lights.

Ideally the devices should be cheap to build (20-30 euros each) and possible to power with a 9v battery or similar.

I have been googling about it, but I would appreciate some guidance in order to avoid some useless time consuming experiments. Unfortunately I don't have much time until the exhibition opening :S

Any suggestions on how to approach this?

Thanks in advance!

a.

avoid some useless time consuming experiments.

That's called learning. It isn't useless. That's how all of us come up with the stuff we make. What makes you think you're so special that you should \just be able to jump straight to done?

when the traffic reaches a certain "threshold" (if something like that exists on wifi traffic),