Will this "break" statement work correctly.

The following is a part of my sketch. I have a timeout period running.

During that timeout period, if the XFER_IP arrives I need to delay for a time TORCH_OFF_DELAY then break out of the timeout loop.

I’m completely new to the break statement (and C programming in general) so not sure if I’ve done this correctly.
Sorry if anybody doesn’t like my bracketing method. I do it this way because I find it easy to see the structures of the functions.

while (MILLIS_NOW - TIMEOUT_START < TIMEOUT_PERIOD)
	{			                           
	  MILLIS_NOW = millis();			        
	   if(digitalRead(XFER_IP) == HIGH) 
	    {									   
	      delay (TORCH_OFF_DELAY);
	      break;                           
	    } 
	}

Edit:

Or if that coding is incorrect would this one work:

while (MILLIS_NOW - TIMEOUT_START < TIMEOUT_PERIOD) 
	{			                              
	  MILLIS_NOW = millis();
	   if(digitalRead(XFER_IP) == LOW)
	      continue;								   
	  delay (TORCH_OFF_DELAY);                           
	  break;                                              
	}

Keith.

And what happens?

Sorry Larry but I don't understand why you are asking that.

Whatever code I have after the "while" loop is executed once I have broken out of the loop, but that following code has no connection with the "while" loop.

Keith.

'break' will jump out of the innermost enclosing while, do-while, for or switch statement. Similarly 'continue' will jump to the end of the innermost enclosing while, do-while or for statement.

You want to break out of the while loop if the delay in the if statement gets executed? No it won't work the way you have it. Try setting MILLIS_NOW = TIMEOUT_START in the if statement. That will result in a condition that will exit the while loop. A flag could also be used. If the flag is not set stay in the while loop and set it in the if. This would be an or type of condition.

Thanks lads,

Mark