Will this work?

Hello All,

I am new to Arduino. My project is to take an input signal from an on/off switch or spliced in from an existing signal from a fabric strip cutting machine; on every other signal the Arduino will need to output signal a pneumatic devise via a solenoid to start its stroke, and retract. The retract could be timed, or it may be from a location signal from the sliding pneumatic devise. I assume that the solenoid will be 12 or 24 volt. I hope I adequately described the project. I just need to know if it is possible to accomplish in the Arduino environment. I am pretty handy, and, not to give away my age, but I was very good at writing Fortran.

Thanks,
Tom

on every other signal the Arduino will need to output signal

Basic toggle test code:

//zoomkat LED button toggle test 11-08-2012

int button = 5; //button pin, connect to ground as button
int press = 0;
boolean toggle = true;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT); //LED on pin 13
  pinMode(button, INPUT); //arduino monitor pin state
  digitalWrite(5, HIGH); //enable pullups to make pin 5 high
}

void loop()
{
  press = digitalRead(button);
  if (press == LOW)
  {
    if(toggle)
    {
      digitalWrite(13, HIGH);   // set the LED on
      toggle = !toggle;
    }
    else
    {
      digitalWrite(13, LOW);    // set the LED off
      toggle = !toggle;
    }
  }
  delay(500);  //delay for debounce
}

tnostrant:
I hope I adequately described the project. I just need to know if it is possible to accomplish in the Arduino environment. I am pretty handy, and, not to give away my age, but I was very good at writing Fortran.

Yes, definitely possible, and actually quite simple. You will need a few external components if the solenoids are 12 or 24V, as the Arduino will cough up smoke if subjected to those voltages. But that's what 5V relays or MOSFETS, are for.

Yeah, Fortran was my third language. I still notice that most folks use i, j, and k as loop counters. It had quite an influence.