window 10 does not recognize arduino

Hello I am new to arduino. I have windows 10 and it doesn't seem to recognize the arduino. I have it connected to the usb.
It also doesn't have port.

can anyone help?

You may need to install the correct driver. Please post a link to where you bought the Arduino from so I can identify which one you need.

Look at the backside of your Arduino (what type??).
If you can identify a chip with “CH340…” you got a clone which needs the CH340g driver.

Here you will find always the latest version:

this is the kit i bought from amazon. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009OVGKTQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

this is the kit i bought from amazon. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009OVGKTQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Ok, for that price it must be a clone (or more precise: 3 clones).
Begin with the Nano - most likely it got a CH340 chip on its bottom as most Chinese clones are built using CH340 chips to work as communication chip (USB/serial) rather than the original FTDI chip which comes with original Arduinos, but FTDI requires to be paid a license fee - and that's why the cheaper (and meanwhile some experts say even better) CH340 chip rules in.

So, start with the Nano and identify the chip on the bottom. If it is something different and has more than 20 pins it might be a clone FTDI - and this could cause troubles with Windows.

it doesn't have ch340 on the back. it tells me uno r3

I don't see any Uno or Nano at the link, only sensors - does look like a nice collection of parts to play with.

If you look at the UNO's they offer they look like FTDI but the prices are way too low to be real ones.

I bought one of those sensor kits and I think only about 25% are really of any use..The rest make good learning modules though.

rpt007, the link you gave me didn't work. i dl the driver and nothing. it doesn't recognize it.