wiper motor wiring and driver

I'm a newbie to the micro controller world. My first real project involves using a 12V DC wiper motor to open and close a door. I've been able to acquire a wiper motor from a junk car. It has a total of 5 wires. I've identified the ground and two wires for fast and slow. I'm assuming the other two have something to do with being able park the motor.

Is there a way to tell how the other two should be used other than trial and error?

More importantly, should I use the ULN2003 driver board or something like an L293D. Being a newbie, I'm a little confused about the main differences other than the L293D can drive 2 motors.

Thanks

Hi, and welcome.

Window wiper motors come in a large variety.
All i've seen are DC motors, so you only need to control a single coil.
You will not be able to control this by using an ULN2003 or a L293D, because they can't nearly deliver the current a wiper motor would like.
The L293D can handle 600 mA, which really isn't enough, and it has a spare stage you would not be using.

Motors like these would like to have some 5 to 7 amperes to run, but it depends on the type.
So you would need to use a setup that can handle a much larger current.
You really should try to find the specs for that motor, or a motor of which you know the specs of.
Then you can think of a way to control it.

gjenks:
I'm assuming the other two have something to do with being able park the motor.

This could be correct but it is common to do this mechanically with a pawl changing the crank geometry via a one shot solenoid. The extra wires may be due to intermittent motion or perhaps an interlock for the washer pump but, if they aren't causing a problem, you can probably ignore them. There are a lot of wipers about and, if you really need to know, you need to check the service manual for that type of car.

You probably need an h-bridge like below to drive the motor. Youtube has some windshield wiper motor project videos.