Wire library and I2C Byte Data type?

Hello, I am trying to write the time and configure the alarms on a MCP9740 RTCC using the Wire library. I am having some trouble figuring out what kind of data to send. I am very new to programming , so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here is my code:

#include <Wire.h>
int rtc_address = 0x6F; 
void setup()
{
  Wire.begin();        // join i2c bus (address optional for master)
  Serial.begin(9600);  // start serial for output
  int reg0 = 0;
}

void loop()
{

Serial.println("begin"); 
  Wire.beginTransmission(rtc_address);    // send to slave ID 0x6F =  
  Wire.write(0x01);
  Wire.write(0);
  Wire.endTransmission();

Serial.println("sent"); 

int i = 2;
  int reg0 = Wire.read();
  while( i > reg0 )
  {
  Serial.println("read");
  Wire.beginTransmission(rtc_address);    // send to slave ID 0x6F =  
  Wire.write(0x03);
  Wire.endTransmission();
  Wire.requestFrom(rtc_address, 2);
    while(Wire.available() == 0);
    Serial.println(reg0);
  delay(2000);
  }
}

Here is a picture of the ‘memory map’ for the registers from the datasheet:

Each column in that table refers to a bit, and so my question is what kind of data do I send to this?
I can see how sending a hex value for the address byte works, as does the I2C address, which I got using a scanning sketch.
What kind of data do I send for the time now? In the datasheet it says that the times are in BCD also, how do I calculate this?

Note, I have been able to observe the minutes register count through minutes on my serial terminal, but I don not understand why this was displayed as a decimal value. Does the Arduino IDE autoconvert hex to decimal and such?