Wire send multiple values

Hi all, this forum has been a great help thus far, lets see how this goes :slight_smile:

I have 4 sensors, which are 555 circuits which measure capacitance through the use of interrupts. This goes into one MEGA (secondary), which I also want to measure an accelerometer, voltage and current. All of this needs to be piped to another MEGA (primary) which will do the heavy lifting (it has an Ethernet shield and sends/receives the sensor data and control commands via OSC).

I’ve got Wire working (easy stuff) for small values. However, I’m looking to send all of this sensor information to the primary MEGA. Looking around, large values are difficult to send, and I’m guessing sending an array with multiple large values will be harder.

The values I’m sending will be 4 x 5 digit (00,000) numbers, and 3 x 3 (000) digit numbers. I’m a hobbyist with a vague understanding of C programming (I’m a web programmer - PHP, HTML, JavaScript - by profession), so be gentle :slight_smile:

How do I do that with the wire library? Is there a better communication method?

You could do something like this:

#include <Wire.h>
#define SLAVE_ADDRESS 42

void setup () {
  Wire.begin ();
}

void loop() {
  int myData [7];

myData [0] = 123;
  myData [1] = 456;
  // etc.

Wire.beginTransmission(SLAVE_ADDRESS);
  Wire.send((byte *) myData, sizeof myData);
  Wire.endTransmission();

delay (100);
}

That sends 7 ints - these can hold -32768 to +32767. That would be 14 bytes. If you need larger numbers than that change “int” to “long”. If you make the ints longs it will be 28 bytes, which is just within the range of what you can send (32 bytes).

How do I pick it up on the receiving end, the basic slave_receiver example doesn't give me the results I was expecting?

I have some examples here:

http://www.gammon.com.au/i2c