wireless communication with arduino boards

hi,

i'm trying to send an on/off signal from one arduino board to another using cheap sender and receiver modules that are operating with 868mhz...problem is i don't know how to program them..actually it's just sending a simple byte 0 or 1, so do i need a library such as VirtualWire for the transmission or is there an easier way cuz i can't really get the hang out of it, a better documentation(for total noobs) to the VirtualWire would be of great help too!

thx! akira

hi again,

here is the link to the radio transmitter/reciever module

http://shop.conrad.at/ce/de/product/190939/SENDE-EMPFAeNGERMODULSET868MHZ

hope it helps even it's in german!

thx akira

I'm pretty certain those RF modules are very simple and the receiver will simply pick up whatever is transmitted from the transmitter. i.e. wire them up and it is no different than having a wire between the two digital pins. Just try it and see what happens.

hi,

thx for the answer, but i already tried this with the script below and all i’m getting is a zero on the side of the receiver…any idea?

transmitter code------------------------------------------

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
#define rxPin 2
#define txPin 3

int val = 0;       // variable to store the value coming from the sensor

//using softwareserial
SoftwareSerial rfSerial = SoftwareSerial(rxPin, txPin);   

void setup() {

rfSerial.begin(4800);       //initialize softwareserial
 Serial.begin(9600);         // serial communication to the computer
}

void loop(){

val = 1;

Serial.print(val);               // send data to computer
     rfSerial.print(val, DEC);    // send data out tx

delay(1000);

}

receiver code-------------------------------------------------------

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>                    
#define rxPin 2
#define txPin 3
SoftwareSerial rfSerial =  SoftwareSerial(rxPin, txPin);
int val = 0;

void setup() {

pinMode(rxPin, INPUT);                // set receive as an input