Wireless Control of Potentiometers using nrf24l01

Hi Im really new to this... Here is what I have. I have an existing RC Transmitter (taranis). I have soldered wires in to be able to connect external joysticks (or potentiometers). Playing around with having a joystick in each hand seperate from eachother.

Connecting the external joystick via direct wires is obviously not difficult. What I want now is to make that external joystick wireless using arduino and nrf24l01. Is this even possible?

Do you intend to remove or disconnect the original pots from the Taranis ?

I do not intend to no. But I can center the pots("zeroing" them out) on the taranis. and it has the ability to adjust intended output based on input. Ive accomplished this with pots directly wired to existing taranis pots.

You have not given much information on what you have. Do you have an Arduino board? What Board? Can you read the pots with the board and output the readings to the serial monitor?

Robin2's simple rf24 tutorial is a good place to start. The simple RX and simple TX examples can be easily modified to send and receive joystick data.

I have an arduino uno.

Yes, i am seeing the output reading on the serial monitor using the joystick.

what I want now is to "mirror" the variable voltage from the potentiometer (on transmitter side) to the a variable voltage coming out of arduino (on receiver side) so i can just attach the wires to the existing pots on the transmitter.

Do you have a transmitter and receiver code?

And if so, can you show it please. :slight_smile:

i do not have the transmitter and receiver code yet. Before diving into that i wanted to know if it was even possible to duplicate the output of a pot through the arduino.

So,
I can tell you it's possible to use a joystick (or a pot) with nrf24l01 and an arduino (uno in my case). I have done it one time: I was controling a servo with a joystick, with two nrf24l01 module.