Wireless House security system

Hi guys,

I am totally new to Arduino and would appreciate any advice I can get.

I want to build a security system for home. Each PIR (four in total) needs to be connected to a wireless transmitter, which would send a signal to the main arduino board if the pir is triggered.

I need to know what arduino devices to purchase - For each transmitter i would like to use a simple (cheaper) arduino. And aslo I’d like to know what the model of the main control board should be. (Bearing in mind I’m trying to keep the cost as low as possible)

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks

buy wireless sensors, don't try to build your own. you only need to have a receiver and any arduino, the mini or NANO or uno or pro-mini will work.

Hi Dave,

Thanks for your reply.

I already have sensors which are positoned in my yard. These relay points that close or open when triggered. I need to transmit this alarm condition to the Arduino.

Thanks

I have a system using NRF24L01 radios and Arduino Nanos. If you're willing to wait, all you require (5 radios and 5 Arduinos) can be had for perhaps less than $30. PIRs on ebay are also inexpensive. Don't forget power supplies; other minor components will be needed before you're done.

The receiver in my system is in the basement and the farthest transmitter is on the second floor. Conditions in any environment will determine whether these radios, or any, will reliably work.

Bear in mind that most versions of NRF24L01s are not breadboard friendly, meaning you will need adapters. My 'adapters' are ribbon cables I made that are NRF24L01 friendly on one end and standard breadboard spacing on the other end.

Another consideration is that breadboards are not intended for a permanent installation.

Once a 'detection' is received by the receiver, what are you intending the receiver to do?