Wireless internet on the arduino

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on this site, please excuse me if I am in the wrong in any way and let me know for next time.

I am just getting started with uControllers, but I have been playing with electronics for a fair while now. I must confess I don't yet have an arduino, but I do have a teensy, it was a cheaper way into the uC market for me.

What I am asking about is for a project which I have been thinking about, its a car monitor. Basically watch temps, rpm, etc. Also hopefully down the line it will start and stop the car and open doors, etc.

What I would like to do is create a web page for the uC so I can access it from where ever, these days getting internet access on my phone anywhere is fairly easy.

I have seen the arduino web server and was wondering how hard it would be to get it connected to the internet wirelessy. I do not want to have a whole computer in the car, just a nice neat box.

Any idea's?

Thanks in advance.

I do not want to have a whole computer in the car, just a nice neat box.

You sure?

Ever seen a mini-ITX box with a custom modded 7 inch touch screen, wi-fi, and a boomin' bass MP3 player and GPS. I'm pushing 40 and I want one in my truck...

;D

The problem with something like a mini-ITX machine is that it sucks a bit of juice, and it sounds like @cr0sh wants something that's left running 24x7 (given the remote start comment) so being low-power is critical.

Otherwise, I absolutely agree with you!

@cr0sh, these links may be of interest:

http://www.geekmyride.org/wiki/index.php/Jon's_RX-8 http://www.practicalarduino.com/projects/vehicle-telemetry-platform

Jon

www.freetronics.com www.practicalarduino.com

The problem with something like a mini-ITX machine is that it sucks a bit of juice, and it sounds like @cr0sh @blackman wants something that's left running 24x7 (given the remote start comment) so being low-power is critical.