Wireless motor control speed (PWM) with NO joystick

Hello everyone

I need to make a rather (i think) simple project but as a noob I'm a bit confused and i need your help. The concept is this : I need to control wireless the speed of two 12V dc motors in a robot car but each motor is about 5A max current.

I can not use joystick since I want to set the speed wireless with a potentiometer (or whatever). In a joystick, if I release my hand from the lever, the lever comes back to "0" position and we don't want it. I search internet but I found nothing.

I would appreciate a lot if you can tell me what I will need (some ideas and some links) in order to do it. Since this is a robot car the speed of the motors should be controlled by PWM in order to keep torque (as much as possible) constant.

thank you.

gspir:
In a joystick, if I release my hand from the lever, the lever comes back to "0" position and we don't want it.

The code in this Demo deals with that problem.

You have not said if you already have the wireless components. If not I recommend the nRF24L01+ transceivers which are cheap and very effective. Have a look at this Simple nRF24L01+ Tutorial

For controlling your 5amp motors you will need a suitable h-bridge or ESC (electronic speed control). If you want to control the motors independently you will need one for each motor.

...R

Thanks man for the answer

I do not have the componets and I will buy them. I know that I will propably need a nordic nrf24l01 (receiver and transmitter) but I m not sure what else I will need (or how to connect them) in order to control the speed with PWM. It is sure that I will need a 5Amp (or bigger) motor driver, but now is where my questions begin.

Lets say we have to control wireless the speed of 1 motor 5Amp with a potentiometer (to make things simpler).