Wireless Pressure Monitor on Rotating Impeller

Hi guys & girls,

I have a uni project that requires me to install pressure sensors on the impeller blades of a rotating centrifugal fan. Pressure readings need to be taken at different locations of the impeller. Given that this is a rotating part. The only method i can think of is mounting the arduino in the centre powered by battery and have it wirelessly transmit to a LCD display so that i can record the readings while the fan is operating. Is this a feasible idea? I'm new to arduino and wonder how hard it is to set up the programming. I've had a search around for some pressure sensor modules, and the ARDUINO PRESSURE SENSOR MODULE BMP280 seems reasonably small enough to fit onto the impeller. What other components will i should i gather to complete this?

Thanks everyone!!

Can't you just connect the sensors to a slip-ring on the fan shaft?

How fast does the fan rotate?

Are you trying to measure the air pressure on the fan blades?

...R

What you're asking for is a tall order. Not sure if impossible, but not going to be easy.

Impellers tend to rotate fast, so even a small sensor will cause imbalance which may cause the part to fail. Especially at the tip of the blades you may experience serious centrifugal forces - make sure that this in itself doesn't affect your sensor.

Also you need quite a large space somewhere on/in/at the blades for the rest of the components. So size of the blades is key to feasibility. Pressure sensors themselves can get really small, such as the MS5837, just a few mm in all dimensions and a few grams at most in weight. The wireless module OTOH is much larger, due to the required antenna which has a physics-dictated minimum size.

Then mostly out of curiousity: how are you planning to mount the sensor so it can measure pressure without disturbing the air flow?

are you trying to use Bernoulli's principal to determine blade design ? that would mean a lot of sensors.