Wireless scales

I am new to arduino in every way. I will soon be attempting to produce a set of 4 wireless scales, and would like any guidance available. Each scale will consist of a 15" x 15" x 1" aluminum pad, hollowed out, with a strain gage glued to the inside. This will be my load cell. I have ordered the strain gauges, voltage amplifier boards, several NRF24L01+ transceivers, and an Atmega 328 arduino with a 2.4" TFT touch screen display. I would like for all 4 scale pads to transfer data to a wireless handheld display unit that will simultaneously display the weight on each scale, as well as display "left side percentage" and "rear percentage" I will also need a tare function on the touch screen display. These scales will be used for my Dirt Late Model racecar. there are some companies that sell a very similar product that starts around $1800. I figure if I can make this work I will have only about $300 involved.

Will this work? What other hardware do I need? and is there any videos out there of anyone doing this exact same thing?

Have a look at this Simple nRF24L01+ Tutorial. The second example (using the ackPayload feature) can be extended to work with several slaves. I would arrange for the handheld unit to act as master and call each of the others in turn to collect their data.

...R

Load cells usually use four strain gauges in a Wheatstone bridge arrangement.

How do you propose to use just one strain gauge?

Jremington: I purchased full bridge strain gauges. So each one is a full Wheatstone bridge in itself. I hope this will work?

Also wondering, will I need an arduino board in each scale? Or can I simply hook up the strain gauge to the voltage amplifier to the NRF24L01 board and transmit that signal without an arduino board in each scale pad?

The standard NRF24L01 breakouts do not include an MCU, are not programmable and do not have an ADC. They must be driven by an MCU of some sort. Arduino is fine. Are you thinking of some other type of module?