wireless transmission from steering wheel for cruise control install

good day, arduino users,

I am putting a new engine into a wonderful sports car which has no cruise control, even tho built in '07. The new engine requires a new honda computer and is capable of CC. I do not want to install wires along the column if practical, so i’d rather use BlueTooth or … for input. I’m a retired engineer and am familiar with the arduino, c/c++, ICs,… The Arduino can be on the floor, very close to cg. I seek the lightest/simplest (preferably digital) input push buttons (2) to glue to steering wheel without injury (it’s a momo). It’s ok for wires/transmitter to be glued to back of steering wheel as well as front, but of course light weight is paramount. The total distance is <1.5m. I thank you in advance, and hope i have included sufficient info. Peace.

I'll leave it to others to discuss the feasibility of wireless transmission inside a car.

But I wonder how you want to connect a wireless receiver to the car control logic (CAN bus?).

Furthermore I'm not sure how you want to connect the buttons, on the steering wheel, to an Arduino on the floor, without using cables. Even if you want to replace just these cables by wireless transmission, a sender in the steering wheel must be powered somehow, so that some cabling seems inevitable to me. Can you show a sketch of your intended installation?

I think you will need an Arduino on the steering wheel as well as one on the floor. For the steering wheel you can make a very small bundle with a bare-bones Atmega 328 and an nRF24L01+ 2.4GHz transceiver.

If you plan to use a Honda Cruise Control computer that is approved by the various regulatory authorities and your motor insurers that’s fine. In that case the Arduino will only be acting as a remote switch.