wiring and reading a rotary (BCD) switch - HOW?

I am just getting started with the whole Arduino world with a project that I'm hoping will make my life a little better... I am a paraplegic due to a spinal cord injury, and since my feet don't work anymore, I'm trying to build an "electric pedal pusher" to work with machines that use foot-pedals for control, such as TIG welders and sewing machines for instance.

Eventually I will be (hopefully) controlling it with an EZ-VR speech reco shield, which may be the cause for other questions later, but for the moment....

Different machines have different operating approaches when it comes to how one pushes the pedal - a TIG machine wants the pedal floored rapidly at start, and then ease off as the puddle develops. OTOH a sewing machine usually wants you to sort of ease into it. There are also devices that have a "binary" on/off pedal - I think it's desirable to have the pusher be able to have different "profiles" as to how it behaves depending on what it's being used with.

To do this, I have a rotary 0-9 "Binary Coded Decimal" switch - it has four outputs, one for each bit (1,2,4,8) and a common. I am trying to figure out both how to wire it, and how to write the appropriate code for it. I've done quite a bit of searching, and haven't really found anything specific...

I am going to have plenty of I/O pins available to me, and it seems to me like the simplest approach is to plug the switch outputs to digital I/O pins (presumably D2-D5) and the common to either +5 or ground. Assuming I'll be using the internal pull-up resistors, does the common go to ground? Is there a better way to wire it?

My working assumption is that the pusher will be powered down when switching pedals, and that selecting the "profile" will be done as part of the hardware setup, and will not change while the pusher is in use....