With so many libraries how can you tell which you should use

I've seen many libraries which on the surface have the name but looking into them they are obviously different in different ways. When the library isn't listed for a project and I just have the #include info how can you really tell which library you need? A perfect example is JSON_parser. One library is Json_Parser, one is JSON_Parser and the content is different. Others have the exact same case, in one of my situations I have a Adafruit_GFX library but the github version is slightly different. And the same situation would apply for hardware specific libraries that call a certain file.

I'm fairly new to this and i'm just looking at things and trying to reverse engineer some of the software to understand how everything works.

Thanks much,

Dave

Most libraries come with a number of examples that exercise the library. Look at those examples and see if any of them are similar to your needs. If one is, try modifying it to see if you can get the modified program to do whatever it is you need. If not, just keep looking.

I am looking at example sketches which are calling for a library but it doesn't say anything other than "I used this library" without a link or anything of the sort so I go to github to search for the library but am unsure if that is the correct library as I'll sometimes get random errors while compiling making me think it isn't the actual correct library.

As an example, one sketch is calling for Adafruit_GFX but I now see I have v 1.0.2 and there is a github version of 1.1.5. Would I be best served to install 1.1.5 unless something specifically states it wants 1.0.2 or otherwise? I don't really see a version history readme with what was changed so I'm a bit confused there.

Dave

Most of the time the newer version from the same developer are backward compatible unless stated so. So get the latest version possible.