Working out how to power a project

Hi All,

I'm very new to electronics and am trying to learn how to create circuits without blowing up anything. The main thing I need to know is how to work out the supply I should be using for my project. I feel like the volts don't matter and its all about the amperage draw on the circuit, however I am still worried that I'm going to burn out my components due to faulty knowledge. Could someone explain to me a simple was of working out a power supply?

Thanks in advance!

Jack

Well, for one thing. You need to think of a power supply like a water bottle and not a fire hose. Your circuit will only "drink" what it needs and as long as the power supply is powerful enough to give your circuit what it wants to consume... you are ok. If you have a LARGE capacity power supply at the correct voltage, you circuit will not care.

If you have too small a supply, it will starve your project and it won't operate correctly. In neither case will you "burn out" your project, presuming it's wired correctly, if your voltage is correct and you have enough current delivery capacity.

Well, it would be helpful if you could mention at a high level what kind of project it is. Is it a simple Arduino with a few blinky lights, or are you going to need to power 6 12-volt motors while doing doing communication back to the pc. Are you going to be able to power your project from a wall socket or do you need to run on batteries? If batteries, how long of run time are you expecting?

For the simplest projects, power it either through USB (which delivers 5 volts to the board) or via a 7-12 volt wall wort that plugs into the 2.1mm power supply. If you have higher voltage/amperage devices, then you may need more complex power setups.

pwillard: