Would any buttons just work with Arduino?

I want to get a push button that looks cooler than the one that came with my Arduino Starter kit, but I'm not sure if any kind of buttons will just work.

I went to a local electronics store and they had different kind of buttons. Many of them are way larger than the one that came with the Starter Kit. The button that came with the Starter Kit has 4 leg pins, but I usually use only 2 of them. The buttons I see in the store have a variety of number of pins. Some buttons have 2 pins, some have 4 and some have more than 4. Some buttons are huge and I'm worried that they are not compatible.

I'm new to electronics. How do I determine if a button would work with Arduino? Would something like this one (picture) work? Is there anything I have add or take note of for these buttons to work?

Pretty-much any button or switch will work... A switch simply makes or breaks an electrical connection. I'll give you some basic information and let you research the schematics & details...

If you don't already have one, I recommend that you get a multimeter. By measuring resistance (Ohms) you can see exactly what a switch is doing. And in general, its almost impossible to do any testing/troubleshooting without one. You can find them online starting at around $10 USD.

The most basic switch is SPST (single-pole single-throw). It has 2 contacts. That's like a regular light switch in your house (not a "3-way" switch). In one position it's on (the contacts are connected when the switch is on, and open (disconnected) when off.

The most common type of pushbutton switch is "momentary". The contacts are closed (on) when you push the button, and off when you release it. There are also "on/off" pushbutton switches that go on and say on when you push it, and go off and stay off when you push it again.