Would someone care to recommend / guide a (sort of) newbie?

Hi. I'm an experience programmer, with rudimentary electronics knowledge. I have an UNO board, and am dying to do my first project with a vibration motor. Never done it before.

I don't need to be spoon fed, though I wouldn't say no to a bit of mentoring either! :) But could someone outline what I'll need to make a standalone (not tethered to usb/laptop) box that vibrates on command?

Any links or shopping list welcome. I assume I need a 3V vibration motor, maybe without a transistor. Not sure. But i'm still so new to arduino, i'm not even sure if / how to connect a motor to the uno (on the digital side)?

Really hoping someone can guide a novice here. I'd be everso grateful. Thanks. Tom.

http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoWirelessShield

http://oomlout.com/a/products/ardx/circ-03/

You need a driver circuit to power the motor. There is a motor driver shield which can plug directly onto your Arduino - it's overkill for what you need here (provides reversible control for two motors) and you could just make up your own single channel driver using a transistor, but using a standard shield would be a simpler and quicker solution.

You'll need a power supply, ideally one that can drive both the Arduino and the motor. A battery holder with four NiMH cells gives a cheap and effective 5V ish supply that is great for powering the Arduino - you'd need to choose a motor that can run off the same supply, or provide some way to drop the voltage to a level that the motor can tolerate.