Would this voltage regulator work?

I am making a clock that all the hands will be controlled by small 9g servos. There will be somewhere between 7-10 total, still finalizing the design. From what I've read the 9g servos take somewhere between 250-750mA so I'm guessing this voltage regulator would work http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=LM1084IT-5.0-ND. Am I guessing right? Also if I get a wall wart that supplies enough amps could I just wire up the arduino's regulator and that one in parallel off the same wall wart? The servos would only be actuated at the same time when the clock is powered on or when a month rolls over, so I don't think I'll need a heatsink, but I'll test that once I get the parts in. Thanks for the help, I'm new to the electronics side of developing stuff.

Two key elements are input voltage and heat. The regulator you picked is a linear regulator which means it dissipates excess energy (from the input voltage to the output voltage as heat). With 10 servos drawing 750mA (let's do some worst-case design) you're going to be drawing 7.5A from the power supply. Now, that's already way beyond the specs of the LM1084. Even if doing a best-case design, 7 servos at 250mA each, that's 1.75A. Multiply this current by the input-output difference in voltage of the LM1084 and you have its heat dissipation. Suppose you use a 9V wall wart, that's (9V - 5V) * 1.75A = 7W. You are going to need a good heat sink to keep the LM1084 cool enough to be usable! A 7V wall wart would be better: half the power dissipation.

--
The Gadget Shield: accelerometer, RGB LED, IR transmit/receive, speaker, microphone, light sensor, potentiometer, pushbuttons

I am making a clock that all the hands will be controlled by small 9g servos.

before dealing with power issues, are these 'modified' servos for continous rotation, or standard servos with <= 180 degree travel?

Lefty