Write string to EEPROM

Hello,

I am trying to write a string to EEPROM but I have been having some trouble getting it to work. I've tried using the "write anything", "eepromex", and "EepromUtil" libraries but still can't get it to work. I'm new to Arduino so any help, especially examples, would be really helpful.

Thank you.

thedudeabides_22:
Hello,

I am trying to write a string to EEPROM but I have been having some trouble getting it to work. I’ve tried using the “write anything”, “eepromex”, and “EepromUtil” libraries but still can’t get it to work. I’m new to Arduino so any help, especially examples, would be really helpful.

Thank you.

have you looked here?

EEPROM.write()

break the string into bytes.

Could you please give me an example on how to do this? I haven't actually seen it done in any forum. What would the code look like to break "hello world" into bytes, for example?

thedudeabides_22:
I am trying to write a string to EEPROM but I have been having some trouble getting it to work. I've tried using the "write anything", "eepromex", and "EepromUtil" libraries but still can't get it to work.

What you're trying to do is certainly possible. If your attempt isn't working, post your code and perhaps somebody can explain what you're doing wrong.

I posted a very simple example to do exactly this a couple of days ago.

Hello,

I’m trying to break a string into bytes and then write to EEPROM.

int index = 0;
int test = 1;
float Lat = GPS.latitude;
float Lon = GPS.longitude;
char buffer[10];
String LatString = dtostrf(Lat, 9, 4, buffer);
String LonString = dtostrf(Lon, 9, 4, buffer);
String concatString = String(index) + ", " + String(test) + ", " + String(LatString) + ", " + String(LonString);
byte len = (byte) strlen (concatString );
EEPROM.write(0, len);
for (int i = 0; i < len; i++)
{
EEPROM.write(1 + i, concatString [i]);
}

I am getting the error message "cannot convert ‘String’ to ‘char*’ for argument ‘1’ to ‘size_t strlen(const char*)’.