Write void X inside an if

Hi, this is an exemple of what I want to do:

void setup() { pinMode(2,OUTPUT); pinMode(3,INPUT); } void one() { digitalWrite(3,HIGH); delay(500); digitalWrite(3,LOW); }

void loop() { if ("put the void one here( )"==HIGH) { digitalWrite(2,HIGH); delay(500) digitalWrite(2,LOW); "and go out of the loop, finish the program here" }

A void function returns nothing by definition, so can never equal HIGH. Try an "int" function instead.

And how would I write it? I am new in Arduino

First you need to figure out what it is that is HIGH. I couldn't from your first post.

Perhaps instead of telling us what you think the line of code would look like, which is obviously wrong headed thinking, maybe you should instead tell us what you want the program to do and someone can tell you a more reasonable way to think about getting at it.

Things to know.

https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Foundations

https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/FunctionDeclaration

Welcome to the Forum. Please read the two posts by Nick Gammon at the top of the Forum for guidelines on posting here, especially the use of code tags when posting source code. Also, use Ctrl-T while your code is in the IDE to format it in a more common manner. Then copy it from the IDE (e.g., Ctrl-A then Ctrl-C) and place the cursor between the two code tags, and press Ctrl-V.

As to your question, you would need to modify your function to something like:

int one() 
{
   int value;

digitalWrite(3,HIGH);
   delay(500);
   digitalWrite(3,LOW);

value = HIGH:     // I have no idea what you want to return

return value;         // You need to figure out a value to return
}

The int that appears before the function name, one(), is called the function type specifier. Its purpose is to inform the compiler that the function is going to return an int value to whomever called the function. Therefore, back in loop() you would likely have something like:

void loop()
{
   int returnValue;